It starts with a little compassion….

So, I had a bunch of ideas for few posts but hadn’t exactly felt like sitting in front of a computer when the sunny, gorgeous outside world is mocking me for being indoors. So, I am just going to brave it through and write some of it now.

Compassion

A big meaty word. Here’s what the dictionary says:

com•pas•sion/kəmˈpaSHən/

Noun:   Sympathetic pity and concern for the sufferings or misfortunes of others

I am a compassionate person because I am able to feel for others pain and misery and because it moves me. However, I am also somebody who does not feel a thing for able bodied beggars who are just begging because it is an easy thing to do – or because they’d rather beg then do daily wage labor.  I am also not compassionate about people who despite having a job (even if it is a low paid one) do not respect it and are not committed towards their job. I do not feel any compassion or any respect towards such people. Tall Claim But True!

There is nothing wrong in being a maid or a cobbler or a guard as long as you are doing your job well. I fail to respect or feel compassion towards a guard who drinks during duty hours. I am sorry this has nothing to do with the whole ‘Poor Man’ ‘Guard’ or ‘Low Paid Worker’ business. This has more to do with the fact that you suck at your job. Period.

Compassion is towards people who can’t help themselves and Respect is for those who can and who do help themselves with their head held high. And that’s how it will always be for me.

Leave a Reply

