The Weekend and More!

I do not have much to report other than the whirlwind weekend I had. I am not in a frame of mind to write an essay so I’ll do bullet points.

1. Saturday Night Tamasha – Celebrated a work buddy’s birthday at Shalom Delhi. The place is average – they had the most diluted drinks I have ever had. Even after four whiskeys (with water no ice) I was pitch sober. Not even tad bit sober. I hate that feeling. Food Portions were small – pity. Anyway, once out of Shalom we headed towards Smoke House Grill – an overcrowded place where I met half of my ‘acquaintance universe’ (A term I coined to describe – entire pool of people I know). So, once out of Shalom, I was in a ‘Blah’ mood because Big wasn’t there and neither did he bother to make an effort to meet me that night. I don’t blame him, I did not set the right expectations in the beginning of the relationship (I’ll tell you where this is coming from) which led to the rather lax attitude. I also met my BFF – Saumya at Smoke House with her latest conquest. I somehow approved of her choice in the first meeting itself (I really surprised myself – this one was really good). I also happened to exchange numbers with this guy who I had initially met at a Focus Group Discussion I was part of at a big Liquor Company (they are huge- and make some of my favorites). I found him hot then, I find him hot now. ‘Fuck Hot’ as I like to describe. The last time I described someone ‘Fuck Hot’ I left a lot of desires for that person and spent a great deal of past two years with. (Hah You Know Who). Anyway, I wouldn’t take this number exchange so seriously because I am not going to call or entertain the idea. We are leagues apart – and by league I do not mean he is out of my league or I am out of his league. I mean we have different verticals of leagues. It’s a no go. But, the area where I would give this number exchange importance is that – I exchanged numbers with a man while I was in a relationship with a man I had begun to immortalize in my head. Prelude to that is: In the past few weeks, I often caught myself fantasizing about being with an “imaginary” man who would take care of me, treat me like a princess, tell me how much he loves me, and take me to see sunrise and all that cheesy melty stuff. I tried hard to train my mind to imagine Big as that Man but my mind point blank refused because it knew that he would never do it. So here I was fantasizing about an imaginary man other than my partner (wrongdoing in my head). Exchanging numbers only answered that mental battle even though nothing did or will come out of my number exchange with this ‘Fuck Hot’ guy.

2. Wine for Breakfast and the Hauz Khas Exploration – Spent the night at a friends’ place and then headed to Green Park Market for breakfast. Did I ever tell you I love a hearty breakfast? Anyway, post my breakfast with my friend and her boyfriend I headed to ‘Fab India’ for some much needed retail therapy. Once done with that, I met Jean – a dear friend who I have come to adore in the past few months. We don’t talk everyday but we make sure to catch-up every now and then. I seem to get a sense of direction every time I meet her so I really do look forward to our meetings. She wanted to have Wine for Breakfast (Didn’t I tell you she is awesome :p) so we decided to head to Hauz Khas Village. Now the shocker – even after having lived in Delhi all my life – I had never been to Hauz Khas Village. Why? Because I am crazy. I fell in love with the place the moment we walked in those little lanes. I could imagine coming with Big to HKV and walking in the lanes holding his hands. Anyways, we headed to Café Ziro, a place she likes for its cheap booze and good ambiance. She had glass of wine and I had a shocker juice with all fruits and vegetables crushed together. We spoke about a lot of stuff – me, her, her relationship, my relationship, my work, her work and what next. She is also a close friend of Big – in fact its him who introduced me to her (So thanks a lot Mr. Big) So it was in this meeting that the realization dawned upon me that maybe I did not set the expectations right from the beginning of the relationship so I can’t blame him now for the attitude he has or had towards this relationship or me. That’s the best explanation I can give about the situation as I get ready to make a rather delayed exit from this long stretched, defunct and often frowned upon relationship. Coming back to Hauz Khas Village – cute place! Love it…Will definitely go there more often – sometimes with people, sometimes alone. It’s MKOP.

Will write more!

Me.

Sent on my BlackBerry® from Vodafone

Leave a Reply

