Curling up with my favorite book!

I have been trying to get myself to focus on the blog so that I can finally write this post. This post has been on my radar for the longest time. I love books. I love reading, however, for almost 1 ½ years I had not read a book in its entirety and it was nagging me from some time now. Finally, a couple of weeks back I picked up my all time favorite book and re-read it to bring back my reading mojo :p. (yes, there is a thing called reading mojo). So I decided to blog about why I like it so much. Please note that this is not a review of the book. These are just reasons as to why I find it so compelling.

My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk
I cannot stress enough, I love this book. This is my ‘Go-to’ book when I am low, when I am blah or even when I am just out of my reading mojo. Here’s why – The book is one of the best works of Orhan Pamuk, an author I have come to admire in the past few years.

Prelude to this: I am not sure if any of you have ever heard about ‘Marcel Proust’. Proust was a French novelist who had mastered the art of defying time in his written pieces. Most of his work revolved around perception and time. I got my hands on Proust’s – Remembrance of Things Volume 1 & 2. I am not a big fan of ancient literature or any such written work but Proust’s work was gripping in a way I could not describe, not at that time, not now. I read the books in my University Library (think they were a part of the French/English Honors). It did leave a mark on me but I soon forgot about it. Then I read ‘My Name is Red’ upon recommendation from a friend who has good taste in booksJ. I felt that there was a sense of familiarity between Proust and Pamuk’s work. Both have attempted being masters of time in their work and both Proust and Pamuk draw heavily on memory of civilization.

Coming back to My Name is Red – it is especially enticing as it has a different narrator for each chapter giving you a different perspective and thought process after every few pages. That kind of attempt makes it refreshingly interesting. It’s a historical novel set in the late sixteenth century Istanbul and is convincingly detailed. It revolves around complex relationships and is riddled with discussions and debates about form and style, the relationship of art to morality and society and future of ottoman illumination. Very Gripping. It is an interwoven mystery plot and has an enthralling narrative – I would recommend it to anyone remotely interested in reading a good book.

Will write more!
Me

Leave a Reply

